GMC Breaking News

Sep 22, 2021, 17:07
CAFÉ Announces 2021 Award Honorees

CAFÉ Announces 2021 Award Honorees


By Lisa Parrish, GMC Editor

Ten culinary instructors earned CAFÉ’s recognition for their innovation, leadership, sustainability efforts, entrepreneurship work, technological prowess and positive community impacts through their culinary education programs. Each honoree receives a cash prize and plaque. Congratulations to the following educators:

Entrepreneurship Award, sponsored by Kendall College
The winner is Elizabeth DeRose, Frederick Community College, Frederick, Maryland

Innovation Award, sponsored by Idaho Potato Commission
The winner is Wook Kang, Kendall College, Chicago, Illinois

Green Award, sponsored by United Soybean Board
The winner is Jennifer Denlinger from Valencia College, Kissimee, Florida

Postsecondary Educator of the Year Award, sponsored by Sysco Corporation
The winner is Rich Grigsby, Florida State College at Jacksonville, Florida
The runner up is Jennifer Denlinger, Valencia College, Kissimee, Florida

Secondary Educator of the Year Award, sponsored by Sysco Corporation
The winner is Mary Elise Chonko, Chesterfield Career and Technical Center, Midlothian, Virginia

Community Outreach Award, sponsored by Auguste Escoffier School of Culinary Arts
The winner is Remy Robert, New Orleans Culinary & Hospitality Institute (NOCHI), New Orleans, Louisiana
Honorable mention to Caroline Starry, Southern Smoke Foundation, Houston, Texas

Technology Award sponsored by Mercer Culinary
Debra Bates, Lancaster HS/Stanbery Career Center, Lancaster, Ohio  
The runner up is Ezra Eichelberger, Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park, New York

Additional stories about the instructors and their winning applications will be available in the August 2021 Gold Medal Classroom edition.